Goosebumps Movie Review 

​When I was a kid, during the good old 1990s, I was completely hooked on the Goosebumps series by R.L. Stine! I went through the books like Pez. (Pez candy was another thing I was hooked on in the 90s.)
If this movie had been made back then I definitely would’ve watched it over a hundred times in a row. That’s not to say I don’t like it at all.
Zach (Dylan Minnette) reluctantly moves to a small town with his mom but then quickly cheers up after meeting his next door neighbor’s beautiful daughter, Hannah (Odeya Rush). He starts hanging out with her regularly until her father puts a stop to it. Of course, this just motivates Dylan to sneak into their house and attempt to “rescue” Hannah from her strict father.
He then comes upon an entire bookcase filled with original Goosebumps manuscripts and realizes that Hannah’s father is in fact the infamous R.L. Stine (Jack Black). Unfortunately, by then it’s too late because the first of many creatures/monsters has been released and begins terrorizing the town.
Zach, Zach’s friend Champ, Hannah, and R.L. Stine then spend the rest of the movie trying to figure out how to get all of Stine’s creations back into their respective books. Which turns out to be easier said than done.
I really enjoyed watching all of the monsters and creatures run amuck. It definitely brought back some cool childhood memories of reading about them. Some of my favorites include: The Abominable Snowman, Slappy, The Werewolf of Fever Swamp, and the enormous praying mantis from Shocker on Shock Street. 
Jack Black gives a decent performance as R.L. Stine but I don’t know why in some scenes he spoke with a terrible snooty British accent. Unless, that’s just his way of trying to inject some classic Black humor into the movie.
Overall, the Goosebumps movie makes for a very enjoyable and nostalgic experience. I only wish I had seen it in 3D when it was still in theaters. Hopefully, I’ll be able to do so whenever the sequel comes out.
On a scale of 1 tamale to 10 tamales I give the Goosebumps movie 8 tasty tamales! 😎

Leave a Reply

