Sojourn (Part 1)

Success is subjective. Purely and utterly subjective. Does it really matter how much wealth one accumulates? No. Does it really matter how many people we please in a lifetime? No. Some of us get it, some of us don’t.

“You need to get a job, Biff!” Molly pointed her fat finger at me.

“Shut up!” I replied.

“You don’t tell me to shut up! Who do you think you are?” Her disgusting damp hair moved as she talked.

“I am no one and everyone.” I replied.

“That’s it! I’ve had it with you!”
She then lunged towards me with a steak knife.

I quickly dodged and ducked. I caught her ankle and tripped her onto her backside. She moaned and yelled incoherently.

“I’m sorry but I had to defend myself. Now, I shall leave.”
With that… I ran away.

I wandered around the neighborhood for hours. Many houses and buildings had fallen into disarray due to a very violent chain of hurricanes that made landfall two years before. Yet, many politicians and business men continue to deny climate change. Such is the ignorance of mankind.

I walked to the shore and sat down on a smooth granite bench. A drug dealing midget soon joined me. I knew he was a drug dealing midget because I had purchased uppers (pills) from him once before.

“Psst! Hey, man! You lookin’ to get high?” He asked me.

“Um… I hadn’t really thought about it but what do you have?” I asked him, trying not to stare at his oddly shaped ears.

“I got everything, man! I got purple nurple, sticky gas, maroon moose, yellow heaven, galactic flux and pizza pine party. Whatcha’ need?” He shifted his gaze every couple of seconds. He was always keeping an eye out for cops.

“Um… you got anything stronger than all of those?” I asked.

“Sure do, man. Just this morning I got a batch of some real prime shit. It’s so pure that it’ll make you fly into another reality, man!” He raised his eyebrows and pointed towards the sky.

“Ok. Cool. How much?” I reached into my back pocket and pulled out my wallet.

“Woah, man! Not here, not here. I’m pretty sure the fuzz is tailin’ me. Meet me at this address in exactly one hour.” He handed me an off white business card then slowly walked away.

“Alright.” I said then read the address printed on the card.

1818 Mud River Rd.

(To Be Continued)

image

One thought on “Sojourn (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

